Ced Brown

image

Meet Cedric “Ced” Brown, Former member of Local (Charlotte, NC) group Dozer Crew. “My stage name is a big part of who I am as a junior to my father but also as an individual I am myself. I like for my music to carry the weight of my emotions I am dealing with during that particular time period”.

When you’re doing what you love, you may begin to subconsciously compare the ground work you’ve put in, to that of someone else who started literally the same place as you. Ced found himself in this position, however he kept pressing forward. “Some of my biggest inspirations with music were my old group mates. There were times when I wanted to quit because of the lack of growth I had compared to the other two who started the same time as myself. They helped push me to where I am now”. “My motivation to keep going is my own son. There’s so much beautiful music in the world and even if I don’t make it big. I want him to know that I wasn’t half-hearted trying just for a quick come up.” – Ced Brown

In my opinion being an artist is about nurturing your passion, creating your art and sharing it with the world no matter how it’s perceived by the people. You honestly never know how much your art can impact someone until you put it out there for it to be received. Ced said something that will stick with me for a lifetime! ” My music cannot impact the world unless it impacts myself first. I’ve had fleeting moments where I thought “this is it” but quickly second guessed it. So I don’t know how I want it to impact the world til I feel that impact myself“. What I take from this is the simple message of “how does this make me feel personally?”. In the time that you take to nurture your passion ask yourself how does (insert your art) impact your life? And you can thank Ced Brown for sharing light on a question some rarely ask themselves.

Throughout the next 5 years, Ced will dabble in Production and engineering, while putting the finishing touches on his first album entitled Re:Member/[Untitled], an EP He’s working on soon after with a close friend named FKA Denim. Until the release of his album you all can check out his previous work strictly at the links below also follow him on social media:

Twitter: https://mobile.twitter.com/mellowtoo_hype
Instagram: http://instagram.com/mellowtoo_hype
Snapchat: Mellowtoo_hype
http://cedbrown.bandcamp.com/
http://dozercrew.bandcamp.com/

Advice from Ced Brown:
Whatever happens, do not stop doing whatever it is you want to do. You’ll regret it for the rest of your life. If you don’t have regrets, you never wanted it that badly.”

Leave a Reply

